If gods are omnipotent, then why do their followers get pissed off when said gods are mocked?

University College London’s Atheist, Secularist and Humanist Society has got themselves in “trouble”. They posted a panel from the Jesus and Mo comic strip on their Facebook page, and one of the resident Muslim societies has taken offence and has asked them to take it down.

This is something I genuinely don’t get. If a religion worships a god who is supposedly omnipotent, then why do they get so pissed off when somebody mocks said god? Surely he/she/it can survive a bit of satire, especially if he managed to create the world in a week 6000 years ago and make it look about 13 billion years old[/sarcasm]. If he/she/it is benevolent, then he/she/it won’t mind. As Robert Frost said:

Forgive, O Lord,
my little jokes on Thee
And I’ll forgive
Thy great big one on me.

Now, I do agree people should be allowed freedom of belief – but that does NOT mean you can force other people to shut up because you’re offended. I find organised religion to be pretty bloody offensive on some days, but I’m willing to let people practice it – as long as you don’t hurt somebody else. Tim Minchin said it best in his Pope Song:

I’ve got no problems with the beliefs of all these fuckers
As long as those beliefs don’t impact on the happiness of others

.
Now, to be fair it hasn’t turned into a riot like the Danish cartoons did. But still, I think it’s ridiculous. UCL is a secular university, so they can’t and shouldn’t pander to any religion in particular; even if they were not, there is also the small inconvenience of freedom of speech. I’ve said this in an earlier post: I am in favour of freedom of speech, even for people whom I think are absolute pieces of shite. Why? Because the more extreme they sound, the more support they will lose. Take a look at the anti-vaccination crowd: what’s left are now so extreme that only a lunatic fringe supports them now. And that works better than banning them.

Tags: , , ,

About Philip

I'm a physics graduate, sci-fi writer, budding game designer, and amateur human.

6 responses to “If gods are omnipotent, then why do their followers get pissed off when said gods are mocked?”

  1. Philip says :

    I checked some of the comments on Pharyngula, and somebody pointed out that the entire protest was caused by the cartoon image being used on the Atheist Society’s Facebook event, meaning that somebody else went out of their way to find offence. If so, I’ve got no sympathy for the protest.

  2. righttobelieve says :

    People become easily offended now a days. Just putting up a symbol of your religion around someone who doesn’t follow it can cause them to be offended. I understand a little when it comes to the god thing, though I agree with you. It’s like when someone insults someone close to you, often times you may get mad. If someone feels that their god is close to them then they will get upset about it. Though again, i still agree with you and that they honestly just need to get over it.

    • Philip says :

      It’s like when someone insults someone close to you, often times you may get mad. If someone feels that their god is close to them then they will get upset about it

      I would say there is a difference between the two: someone who is close to you in this world can be proven to exist (going to pinch my brother when I see him next πŸ˜‰ ), but a god or multiple gods cannot.

      • Philip says :

        Damn, posted before I’d finished! m-/

        I was going to say I can’t see why somebody might get offended if somebody insults or mocks something that can’t be proven to exist. But on second thoughts, that sounds a bit like invisible friends.

      • righttobelieve says :

        It depends, granted you can’t proven that god exists but many people think life if proof enough. You have to think about the kind of people your dealing with. πŸ˜› God is just one of our invisible friends, i like that. ^_^

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. On blasphemy « Dub i nGal - 5 August, 2012

Any comments?

